Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
1

Breakfast Ramen

(Just Don't Call it Carbonara)
1
white powder on brown textile

I was having a lazy Sunday moment last week and ended up whipping up a dish solely from what I had kicking around the house. Some ramen from a recent trip to H Mart (along with some garlic chives from the same trip), a couple of eggs, some cheese, bacon, scallions, garlic, etc.

green and white vegetable on brown wooden table

Carbonara was definitely the impetus, but only to the extent that I wanted something cheesy, eggy and noodley. I think a lot of people are a bit scared of a dish like this at home because of a fear of scrambling the eggs. I feel like we’ve all been there. For me, the key is to make sure the pasta is hot and fresh off the flame with a decent amount of liquid still in the pan to help absorb the cheese. The egg and cheese is added off heat, of course, but making sure the pasta is still hot will cook the eggs and cheese just enough so they coat and glaze the noodles. If added while the pasta and sauce are a bit cooler (because of fear of scrambling), you risk ending up with a kind of cold congealed egg sauce. Conversely, if you add the eggs and cheese while the stove is on, you will almost certainly scorch or scramble the eggs. Once this has happened, there’s no coming back.

But I think I can help you easily avoid that with this recipe. Feel free to give it a go and let me know how it turns out in the comments.

Breakfast Ramen

Serves 1

This post is for paid subscribers

The Knife
Videos
Recipes, Stories and Advice from a Michelin-Starred Chef
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Nick Curtola